Book Resolutions for 2016

Happy New Year everyone! I hope 2016 brings you many blessings and the things you work for come true. I have learned so much about myself and other people this past year, and I want to continue to grow even more. May your spirit be lifted this new year. Every year I always come up with a few book resolutions that I want to attain. Most of the time I fail miserably, but hey, it’s nice to at least try! What’s most important is that you at least set reading goals. Those goals help you outline what you plan to read or how to diversify your reading. Book Riot’s read harder challenge is always a great way to plan your yearly reading, and I’ll be following some of their suggestions to include in my book resolutions

ReadHarderChallenge2016_checklist-1

When setting your resolutions,  a good thing to remember is to be realistic. A lot of times I set idealistic reading goals, but end up failing them because they don’t fit my lifestyle or my schedule. If you are apart of the Goodreads reading challenge, set your reading goal to something attainable. If you think you’ll only be able to read 10 books, then make it 10 books! Don’t be embarrassed if your reading expectations seem lower than someone else’s. Remember, read at your standard. That is definitely something that I have come to terms with over the years. Resolutions should make you feel good when you accomplish them, not a burden.

Another tip when setting your reading resolutions is to challenge yourself. Make your reading goals something you have to work for, a challenge. For example, I’m not much of a non-fiction reader, but in 2016 I want to challenge myself to read more non-fiction. Maybe there is a certain author that you want to read but never have, or perhaps you want to finally tackle that Tolstoy novel that’s been eyeing you for years. Try to push yourself and your brain to new limits.

So with all of that being said, here are my planned reading resolutions for 2016:

  1. Read more non-fiction (this one is difficult for me)
  2. Write more on my blog about bookish happenings.
  3. Read at least two self help books.
  4. Try an audiobook or two.
  5. Get back into reading Shakespeare (I’m a huge Shakespeare fan )
  6. Read a graphic novel.

 

So that’s it! My list is super small but it fits me and challenges me to try something new.  What are your reading resolutions for the upcoming year? Happy New Year and happy reading!

 

 

Leave a Reply

