Interview Swap for Book Blogger Love -A-Thon

book_blogger_love-a-thon_2014

I am so excited to be participating in this year’s Book Blogger Love-A-Thon hosted by Alexa Loves Books ! For the first event, I had the privilege of interviewing Jen at her blog Fefferbooks. She is super awesome and has an amazing book blog. I had a great time interviewing her and getting to know her and her blog. Here’s our interview:

Image

Hey Jen! So I’m really excited to interview you and learn more about your blog!

1.What made you get into blogging and why books? How long have you been blogging about books?

Ha. How much time do you have? Just kidding. J I’ve always read voraciously, and I have a degree in English, so I have fairly strong opinions about literature and what makes a good novel (whether or not they have any merit is another story.) I’m also completely nuts for lists and organization, so when Goodreads came into existence it was the perfect outlet for me to add and categorize everything I read AND get all my opinions out. After a point, it seemed like it might be easier, and more fun, to break away from Goodreads a bit and do things on my own terms. It’s been about a year, now, I think?

2. What does your title Feffer mean?

It’s kind of a goofy thing—when my niece was tiny, she used to say “Feffer” instead of Jennifer. Around that time, I had started a blog about knitting, and I ended up calling it “Fefferknits.” I just thought it sounded fun and silly. It’s kind of morphed into my meaningless, goofy, online identity.

3. What is your favourite genre to read and review?

Young Adult has definitely become the bulk of what I read, these days. I love the faster pace, the high emotion, and hello! The kissing! I also love that–for the most part—they’re pretty clean. I’m OK with a certain amount of “real-world” stuff in my reading material, but too much coarse language or sexuality just isn’t my thing.

4. I see you have a Top Ten Books of 2013 list. Out of that list, what was your favourite read and why?

I *loved* Pivot Point by Kasie West. It really surprised me. It’s one that I just kind of happened upon and put on my hold list at the library, and the novelty of the plot and West’s ability to pull it off completely blew me away. But I loved it most for its character development. West is also fabulous with emotions and relationships. It’s just an all-around great book. And OMGOSH, the sequel (Split Second) just came out! I almost forgot

5. Do you prefer e-readers or print books? Explain your reason.

Mmm…at this point, I definitely do the bulk of my reading on a Kindle. I was certain I’d never be converted, but once I got my Paperwhite and found I’d never have to get up from my half-asleep position to turn off a light again, I was pretty much done for. J I do still absolutely come unglued when I get printed ARCs, though, and I love to buy print copies at signings

6. What is a challenge readers face today? Are there any resolutions?

I think distraction is probably a modern reader’s greatest challenge. There are devices to whistle and ring at us constantly, web sites that can become a total time-suck, video games, working extra hours from home—none of these things were an issue for our parents. Heck, they weren’t even an issue 20 years ago. People ask me all the time how I have time to read, and as much as I love to play on the computer and be connected to things, the answer is “I turn stuff off.”

7. How do you purchase your books? Online, bookstore, library?

Mostly online, but I love our library’s hold system, and their e-selection is growing all the time, too. (I am a HUGE fan of libraries!) I also have a couple of little local bookstores in town I like to pop into now and then

8. What is your advice to aspiring book bloggers or bloggers in general?

I think the thing that’s most important in blogging is to be yourself. Write about what you care about. There are a lot of blogs out there, and it’s easy to look around and develop blogger envy, or start wondering if you’re doing everything all wrong. I think if you maintain your voice and your goals, you’ll do just fine.

9. If you could pick a literary character to be for one day, who would it be and why?

Oh, my. This sort of makes my brain explode! You know what? My favorite book of all time is Pride and Prejudice. I think I would love to be Lizzy Bennett, just for a day. She’s awfully spunky and opinionated and strong-willed for her time, and she gets the guy anyway (even after telling him off)! I like her.

10.What book are you a total fan girl for?

The Amazing Bone by William Steig. It’s a children’s picture book, but its humor is very adult, and I find it riotously funny. I think everyone should read that book, or better yet, have it read to them.

Everyone go check out her blog Fefferbooks and spread the blogging love :).  Also look for more Love-A-Thon events I’ll be posting on my blog!

10 thoughts on “Interview Swap for Book Blogger Love -A-Thon

  1. Jen, I love this:

    “I think the thing that’s most important in blogging is to be yourself. Write about what you care about. There are a lot of blogs out there, and it’s easy to look around and develop blogger envy, or start wondering if you’re doing everything all wrong. I think if you maintain your voice and your goals, you’ll do just fine.”

    I think it’s important for bloggers to stay true to who they are. That means making sure that they use their own voice/ideas/personality to blog, and not be afraid to let that shine! So you make an awesome point. It’s okay to do what’s right for you.

  2. I love Jen’s advice for new bloggers. There’s really no better advice out there!

    Also, her blog name just became 10 times more adorable!

Leave a Reply

